Will a power adjuster lower noise significantly?

Will a power adjuster lower noise significantly?

January 27th, 2009, 11:49 pm #1

I have been just about ready to buy a Discovery, but heard the pcp's make quite a bit of noise. If I would put a power adjuster on, would the noise level drop to the noise level of my Gamo 440?

For shooting starlings in my barn I figure 600fps in a .22 would be plenty, can you adjust that low?

Also where is a good place to get a power adjuster. I saw one on a web site for $35.00, but I am new to the airgun thing so don't have a good working knowledge of who might be good to get an adjuster from.

I have thought of waiting for the Marauder, but that looks a bit more $$.

A discovery+ a $35.00 mod sounds attractive, but then I have no shrouded barrel, and with silencer laws am not comfortable with a non-factory moderator. not to mention adding a shrouded barrel to a discovery probably?? would get me up into the Marauder price rage.

Thanks

January 28th, 2009, 1:54 am #2

mac1, it will come with an adjuster installed. you could talk to tim and tell him what you want and see what he can do. i shoot both of mine inside, down the hall to a target in the back room and don't find the noise level objectionable. they do crack a little in the middle of the shot string, but it isn't that bad. john

January 28th, 2009, 2:12 am #3

I have been just about ready to buy a Discovery, but heard the pcp's make quite a bit of noise. If I would put a power adjuster on, would the noise level drop to the noise level of my Gamo 440?

For shooting starlings in my barn I figure 600fps in a .22 would be plenty, can you adjust that low?

Also where is a good place to get a power adjuster. I saw one on a web site for $35.00, but I am new to the airgun thing so don't have a good working knowledge of who might be good to get an adjuster from.