why does a scope's max magnification matter?

why does a scope's max magnification matter?

-bp

February 4th, 2011, 6:03 am #1

so long as it can be 'turned down' to 12x (or whatever's required)?

a 50x scope at 12x is no better than a 12x scope. in fact, it could be worse.

what's the reasoning?

it's not cost; there are cheap 50x scopes. they're not very good. probably a hindrance and not a help.

any rule should have a sound reason behind it.

-bp

February 4th, 2011, 6:18 am #2

arguments that a good scope, like a Nikko Stirling Diamond 10 - 50 x 60 or Big BSA 10 - 50 x 60 will range better at 12x than say a 4 - 12 x 40AO set at 12x...

I'm no optics engineer, don't know the science behind it...

Regards,

Tony

February 4th, 2011, 8:02 am #3

what's the reasoning?

it's not cost; there are cheap 50x scopes. they're not very good. probably a hindrance and not a help.

-bp
I'm not sure how or why the big discussion on 12x scopes got started. The rules are pretty clear, scopes can be set to no more than 12 power for HFT. Personally all my hunting scopes are 6-20 or 6-24 power and work just fine at 12 power.

If someone has a 50x Nikko and has it mounted on there sporter rile so be it, and if they want to shoot HFT using a bucket, bipod and a sling as their only aides they will fit right in the class.

Jim in Sacramento

February 4th, 2011, 10:23 am #4

what's the reasoning?

-bp