Smithy 3 in 1 Machines

Smithy 3 in 1 Machines

April 9th, 2012, 6:25 am #1

Hi, Please give me your thoughts on these machines-quality, accuracy etc.

Thanks,
Russ...

April 9th, 2012, 10:28 pm #2

off of Craigs List for $250 - an old Harbor Freight Chinese 3in1 tool shop.

I am now into it for closer to $600 -

considering all the toys and tooling I bought to make it work better.

Not super high quality but it works good and is accurate enough for making airgun small parts and turning barrels etc.

The hardest part was getting it completely balanced, level and straight. Now that it is my cuts are decent.

I am a complete newbie and am learning 'as I go' from internet 'how to' videos and just practicing on all stock.

Not the prettiest tool by far but it gets the job done well enough and until I get MUCH better at machining I don't feel the need for something better or more expensive.

I researched the SMITHY 3in1 and they looked really nice for the money, in fact the guy I bought this one from had just upgraded to one - hence getting rid f this old one.

I think the biggest complaint they have is that you have to switch from lathe work to milling or drilling and set everything up from scratch. Which takes time, rather than just
having separate tools dedicated to each job. But as far as saving work shop space I thing the 3 in 1 tools are great.

Regards
James

April 10th, 2012, 6:07 am #3