Shooting like crap

Shooting like crap

September 10th, 2006, 9:27 pm #1

I started shooting like crap about mid day today or a least worse than I normally do. I had noticed my groups were starting to open up last night but didn't think to much about it since there were a lot of wind gusts.

Today, more wind gusts but my target looks like I am shooting a shotgun at it. Maybe a two and half inch wild group at 30 yards.

Maybe the scope is loose, tighten all the screws on the mount and base. Still bad. Checked the loading block pellet o-ring, looks good. Still shooting bad.

I went and got the screwdriver that I use on the CFX. The screws felt tight, but I got them to snap a little bit. Back to the target. Shot five shots and couldn't see where they were going so I pulled off a little bit and shot. Crap, they were in the same hole. Went on to do it over and over again at thirty yards.

More testing required. I can't believe just snapping the screws made that much difference. I don't have any barrel to stock rub since I removed that when the CFX was new. The sound and harmonics seem the same.

Anyone seen this before?

Chris

September 10th, 2006, 9:55 pm #2

...2 full inches at 30yds.

Steve

September 10th, 2006, 10:00 pm #3

I started shooting like crap about mid day today or a least worse than I normally do. I had noticed my groups were starting to open up last night but didn't think to much about it since there were a lot of wind gusts.

Today, more wind gusts but my target looks like I am shooting a shotgun at it. Maybe a two and half inch wild group at 30 yards.

Maybe the scope is loose, tighten all the screws on the mount and base. Still bad. Checked the loading block pellet o-ring, looks good. Still shooting bad.