QB79 VS Disco ?

January 8th, 2016, 12:12 pm #1

I'm new to PCP guns but I have both the Disco and QB79. I think both are terrific guns but the QB series of guns is very, very tough to beat for a gun that is capable of great power in a small package. I also like the stock trigger of the QB series.

I do like the sleeker looks of the Disco, and the ease of ordering parts from Crosman (very, very nice) but on a cost basis for a tinkerer, I'm just wondering if a QB is not the way to go ? Yes the gun is ~$105 + $85 for a tank and regulator = $190.00 Vs `$260.00

Both guns are usually modified by the owner some way and the cost for reasonable mods I think is about the same, so that may be a wash. What I do like about the QB79 is the using a 3000psi tank, giving you more shots when you are in the field. I just got a .177 caliber AR2079A for field use and for my intended purpose (bench rest shooting/pest control) it is perfect, better than a Disco would be for me.

Both guns are just awesome, my QB's are being set up more for field and light hunting use, and my Disco mostly for hunting (because of it is so sleek, 20+ shots after modification is enough for hunting and I like the safety much better on the Disco, the safety on the QB series is horrible, IMHO).

What are your guys thoughts on the Disco and QB's not saying one is "BETTER" than the other, but saying maybe one is better for "YOUR" application ?, don't know !

wll2506

January 8th, 2016, 1:52 pm #2

I love the way you can mix and match formats and come up with a version that doesn't even exist in retail form.

I'll probably get around to a QB at some point in my airgun journey, as they are also highly modable(sp.?) The biggest issue I have with the format is there are no aftermarket breeches available. I'm a lefty, and no problem getting a lefty breech for a Disco or 22XX.

Rock on brother!

Vines

January 8th, 2016, 3:15 pm #3