Newest addition

Newest addition

April 24th, 2007, 9:04 pm #1

A while back, I saw an ad in the paper for a SB lathe. I try to get out and look at all the machinery for sale around here, even if I don't buy anything. I sometimes get to look at a persons shop and see thier stuff and maybe talk machines a little. So the SB was huge, with a 6' bed, and ancient with no qc gearbox. I wasn't interested in the lathe, but got to check out the guys shop and noticed he had an old shaper in the corner.

He asks what I do for a living and I tell him, give him my card. A month or so later, he calls and says he needs some work done, and would I want the shaper. We haggled a little, and I ended up getting a little cash and the shaper. It came out of the local high school when they dropped the machine shop program some years ago. Finally got it home today, and now have to figure out what to do with it. I've forgotten anything I might have learned in hi school, so its like starting fresh.

Anyway, heres some pictures;

People have asked me what I'm going to do with it, since it is basically obsolete unless you want to cut internal keyways and such. I really don't know yet, have to get it working first. The arm for the power feed needs new bushings, and there is no vise. The motor bracket got bent somehow during the move. But after I get those things fixed, and play with it for a while, maybe I'll think of some use for it. There has to be some airgun related application, just have to figure out what it is.

Anyway, I thought you folks might be interested to see it.

Oh, and the guy that bought that SB lathe said he needed to make irrigation fittings and stuff like that. But he lives in the hills inland, and theres only one crop that needs irrigating out there. So, I'm guessing it was a pot grower bought it. He took cash out of a paper bag when he bought it, according to the seller.

April 24th, 2007, 11:31 pm #2