HiPAC on a QB78 ?

December 14th, 2015, 2:52 pm #1

Since I'm new to the QB line of airguns, I ran across this. If I installed on of these tubes, would that be all I need to turn my '78 to a PCP and back to CO2 if I wished ?

Seems like an easy conversion. How many of you have used this system ?

I know on You Tube there is a guy that sent a tube through his leg, but he made the very, very big NO NO of playing around a PCP or CO2 gun with pressure in it !

wll

December 14th, 2015, 3:10 pm #2

I just did this, and it is straight forward if you order the RIGHT SIZED HIPAC.
Alex has updated his webpage and made it very clear based on the end cap you have which HIPAC to order.
Follow the new directions, and make sure you list which QB78 in the check out notes you have, and he'll send you the right one.

Drop the black seal down the air tube, use something long to seat it in the valve head. Screw in the HIPAC, fill and shoot.

I fill mine to 1700 PSI with one extension, I get about 18 good shots at 800 fps with CPL pellets.

It's the perfect quest gun in my opinion.

JSD

December 14th, 2015, 4:59 pm #3

That is just the info I was hoping to hear. I'll talk to him to see what size tanks or/and extensions I should get and go from there.

Thank you again.

wll2506

December 15th, 2015, 1:05 am #4

Since I'm new to the QB line of airguns, I ran across this. If I installed on of these tubes, would that be all I need to turn my '78 to a PCP and back to CO2 if I wished ?

I know on You Tube there is a guy that sent a tube through his leg, but he made the very, very big NO NO of playing around a PCP or CO2 gun with pressure in it !

wll
Just a couple of things.

Need a valve, or at least the front (silver) part of a valve, that is unmodded. There is a HiPac seal that is going to fit in the valve body recess, and the typical porting/slotting/opening up of that part by co2 hot-rodders won’t let it work with a HiPac.