Gamo Accuracy Problem

Gamo Accuracy Problem

February 5th, 2007, 4:13 am #1

I am new to Spring airguns. I just purchased a Shadow 1000 from Cabelas along with a BSA 4X scope. Beleiving the literature on this gun, I assumed it was capable of very tight groups. However, I am very disapointed at the results I am getting. I am shooting from only 10 yards and only able to achieve 2" groups. Some shots will group at about 1", but then there is a stray or two that will go out to 2". I am shooting RWS Super point pellets which is what the guy at cabelas recommended. I am not expcecting same hole accuracy, but I was expecting at least consistent dime-size groups at this distance. (I did that last week with a .22 rimfire from the same bench I am shooting the Gamo from) I have read alot on here about shooting techinque, pellet selection etc, but at this close range, I can't imagine it having that big of an effect. Is it possible that the gun is messed up and needs to be returned, or am I missing something obvious?

February 5th, 2007, 4:29 am #2

Pellet selection and the way you hold the rifle has a BIG affect on the way it shoots. You don't GRIP the rifle you hold it lightly and if your shooting off a rest, set the rifle in the palm of your hand not on a solid bag. You must let the rifle do it's thing sorta, let it float around and your groups will tighten up. It also takes at least 500 to 1000 pellets for the rifle to settle down and start shooting good groups. If your on your first tin of pellets it's to early to worry about groups, just shoot it and the groups will start to get better as the number of pellets shot increases.

http://home.comcast.net/~peterdragin/index.html/

February 5th, 2007, 4:47 am #3

Are you saying that 2" groups at 10 yards would be normal with the wrong pellet and/or shooting technique? I am not gripping the rifle, but letting is sit on an old pillow and slowly squeeze the trigger.

February 5th, 2007, 4:55 am #4