for your vehicle and equipment engine oil , do you use synthetic or

for your vehicle and equipment engine oil , do you use synthetic or

August 17th, 2012, 2:09 pm #1

dinosaur/fossil oil?

" Heaven is under our feet
as well as over our heads " Henry David Thoreau

August 17th, 2012, 3:33 pm #2

I have been using full synthetic since 1974. I began testing on my '74 Dodge Charger using Amsoil 10-30 after a 5000 mile break-in with dino oil. Never changed oil but every 5000 miles I changed the oil filter and added a fresh quart to bring level back to full. Short story was that I sold the car to a friend of mine who drive it to 118,000 miles following the same oil schedule and that motor never leaked, never used oil, never had a major repair. He towed a racing boat around the country and never had an issue.

I use full synthetic in everything I own including motorcycles, snowmobiles, lawn equipment, you name it. I'll never change.

Edit: This also includes transmissions, differentials, wheel bearing grease, everything other than firearms or airguns which I wipe down with Rem Oil for rust protection.

Tom

"What, me worry?"

"If I were two faced would I be wearing this one?" - Abe Lincoln
Last edited by tominMPLS on August 17th, 2012, 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

August 17th, 2012, 4:08 pm #3

dinosaur/fossil oil?

Try 20/50 synthetic in your bike, The v-twin will thank you.
It makes a big difference in the transmission as well, Smoother shifting.

Do you really think there were that many Dinosarus?
http://www.sapphireenergy.com/green-crude/why-algae/

August 17th, 2012, 4:25 pm #4