Tall man's fuel cell

Tall man's fuel cell

October 23rd, 2008, 11:30 pm #1

Hi all,
I'm just beginning a resto on my 1st x. I'm 6'3 and have a difficult time driving my old man's 74. His suggestion was to fabricate new (and very low profile) seats, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to relocate the rear cabin wall 3-4 inches rearward and run a fuel cell in the (front) boot.

Any thoughts?

Also, will post pics soon

October 24th, 2008, 12:08 am #2

I beleive that in 1983 when Bertone took over the X that they made some changes to the seats or seat rails to accomodate taller folk. I do not know what those changes were though. Getting a smaller than stock steering wheel helps too.

Bill D
Bill D

October 24th, 2008, 4:03 am #3

Hi all,
I'm just beginning a resto on my 1st x. I'm 6'3 and have a difficult time driving my old man's 74. His suggestion was to fabricate new (and very low profile) seats, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to relocate the rear cabin wall 3-4 inches rearward and run a fuel cell in the (front) boot.

Any thoughts?

If you take out the stock fuel tank you will get your 4’’ but my concern is you will lose peripheral vision ( mining when you are driving and look to the left you will be looking at the inside of the sail panel not good if you want to drive safe) .Did you think about lowering the floor pan under the seat or make a new seat bottom I met a 6’3” Miata owner that did it his wife is 5’9’ and just adds more cushion when she drives the car. Tim has a grate idea get like a 300mm flat bottom I made my own adapter by using the stock wheel.
Well if your going to take out the fuel tank and cut back 4” maybe do it to a junk car first and see how you like it first .I’m still fixing stuff I did and don’t like how it came out trust me do the junk car first.
Did you take out the seat and sit on the floor just to see what it would be like?

jake
jake

October 24th, 2008, 7:51 am #4

Hi all,

Any thoughts?