CHAMPIONSHIP | Yorkshire vs Surrey (Pre-match Thread)

Moderator: Assistant Moderator

May 6th, 2016, 6:04 pm #11

Agree with that Lewis. Ballance isn't perhaps a no 3, but Gale certainly isn't. Leaning too I prefer at 5 or 6, but they can't all bat there.

And my goodness, hasn't Tim Bresnan's stock risen in his absence ?

May 6th, 2016, 7:08 pm #12

I'm no expert on technique and often think the Sky team talk out of their a*** quite a lot. But Nick Knight seemed to have nailed what the problem is with Gary Ballance in that he is trying to get in an extra movement.

His natural game is to step back and then play the ball on its merits. But now he steps back, seems to tell himself he mustn't do that and steps forward again, then he plays his stroke, almost as an afterthought.

It was quite noticeable in slow motion and because he's such a good batsman he seems able to fit it in against most bowlers, but against the extra zip of Ball and Broad it seemed a real struggle.

Looking forward to Sunday, if we do bat I hope Lyth gets a break to make up for Trent Bridge.

If both openers can do their jobs coming in at No 3 is a lot easier after 20 overs or so have been bowled for whoever it is.

May 7th, 2016, 8:07 am #13

From Todays YP

"After draws in their three matches so far (their longest sequence without a Championship victory since 2012), it goes without saying that the champions need to get on the winning trail as soon as possible."

2012 since we last went 3 matches without a win!! Does it show how much we are missing Bressy and Siddy?

May 7th, 2016, 8:51 am #14

To put it into perspective, we went 14 MONTHS without a Championship win, between June 2008 and August 2009, when we won at Basingstoke. Those were the days!

I expect Yorkshire to be unchanged tomorrow, assuming Plunkett is fit, which he didn't look at Trent Bridge, and everything is okay with Rashid, who likewise looked well below par and was not used by Gale until all other options were exhausted.