timex electric 70's question dust cover stops watch from working

timex electric 70's question dust cover stops watch from working

robert
robert

October 4th, 2005, 3:32 am #1

i got this electric working tonight i have not tested it for accuracy yet. but when i put the dust cover on (i think its called the dust cover) the watch stops working. after several tries i left out the dust cover and its running just fine 10 min now with no stopping. why is that dust cover stopping the watch from working? should i have the dust cover on? is it bad for the watch? im a newbie please help. thanks robert

C.W.
C.W.

October 4th, 2005, 7:22 am #2

Can you post a picture of this alleged "dust cover"?
-or at least describe it?

--Charlie

Knut
Knut

October 4th, 2005, 7:54 am #3

i got this electric working tonight i have not tested it for accuracy yet. but when i put the dust cover on (i think its called the dust cover) the watch stops working. after several tries i left out the dust cover and its running just fine 10 min now with no stopping. why is that dust cover stopping the watch from working? should i have the dust cover on? is it bad for the watch? im a newbie please help. thanks robert
...is propably bent so that it touches the balance wheel when you close the case. There should be a tiny gap between that cover and the balance wheel. If the cover is slightly bent it can come in contact with the balance wheel when you close the case/caseback. See if you can "bend it out" a little. The cover's "mission" ( I think... ) is to hold the battery in the right place/align the battery before you put on the backcase. Hope this helps - keep us updated!

Knut

robert
robert

October 4th, 2005, 8:35 am #4

ok im a newbie so be patient..its not a dust cover and it is bent. so now i have had the watch running none stop it runs really fast like a rocket twice the speed of normal or 3 times faster then the speed of light. how do i slow it down?

Knut
Knut

October 4th, 2005, 8:58 am #5