Unfamiliar 1675 crown guard

Vintage Rolex Discussion

Unfamiliar 1675 crown guard

January 4th, 2012, 1:32 pm #1

Dear friends,

My friend shows me pictures of a 1675. I am not an expert on 1675, but since the serial is 50xxxx, the dial and hands are from later period. What I need help from you is your opinion on its crown guard shape. I have tried to look at several PCG pictures and this one is different.

Your help would be appreciated.

Best,

Wichai

January 4th, 2012, 1:47 pm #2

[/IMG]

but yours seems to be unpolished as well....

January 4th, 2012, 2:06 pm #3

Dear friends,

My friend shows me pictures of a 1675. I am not an expert on 1675, but since the serial is 50xxxx, the dial and hands are from later period. What I need help from you is your opinion on its crown guard shape. I have tried to look at several PCG pictures and this one is different.

Best,

Wichai
Best Regards,
David.

January 4th, 2012, 3:10 pm #4

Dear friends,

Best,

Wichai
Looks like been grinded down,... Never seen one like it

January 4th, 2012, 3:20 pm #5

Dear friends,

Best,

Wichai
...for early 5512 Subs?

(Image from VRF Archive from W.O.Y.)

The chamfers & lug width on this GMT case suggest very little if any case polishing and the back definitely indicates a pointed crown guard case style. Maybe we are looking at something new here--a 1st gen 1675 crown guards case with not-yet-pointed guards???
Would love to see more & better close ups of the crown guard area.
Best,
T.

January 4th, 2012, 3:25 pm #6

watch, serial 503***, the earliest I know of....

[/IMG]

January 4th, 2012, 11:33 pm #7

...does not really protrude that much further above the CGs on the "chopped" one than the 1st gen 1675 that you show: