Melt It Down She Said ?? >>>>> With some OT Finish >>

Vintage Rolex Discussion

Melt It Down She Said ?? >>>>> With some OT Finish >>

May 3rd, 2012, 3:41 am #1

So ,, many of my mates know I'm a paraplegic after an accident some years ago and I'm paralyzed from the armpits down , meaning I have no trunk or torso control , as such I can only ever use one hand at a time the other has to hold my body upright in the wheelchair or I'll kiss mother earth in the blink on an eye And , I'm really a hobbyist frustrated grade 1 watchmaker in a mobile chair , I love to restore and bring back the life & beauty of timeless things like watches , so , this friend of my wife says to her , hey your husband ,, she cringes ,, isn't he into watches or something like that ? 

How do u explain or answer that

Um yes kinda why ??

Oh I found these 2 old watches that don't work ? 

Ever heard that before ? OK bring em round ?

She brings round 2 beaten watches and wanted to know if they were real as one was a Rolex ?? or so it said on the dial ? Expecting the worst ,, I said no drama cane farmer ,, dont panic its all organic ?? let me have a captain cook (look) and sure enough , one was what it was , not much to say the least ,, but the other , a Very KooL vintage Rolex , I have NO idea what it is ? Love to learn if anyone can shed some light ? 

I'm guess it's early 50's but if u ask my wife she will tell u the last time I was right was in 1973

Any clues would be a blessing and I know one of the forum members will know fo sure ??

Anyways ..... The watch was a bit messy on sight as you will see but we love messy don't we , i opened her up , inspected , the balance would spin but the escapement wouldn't power through the gears , so I said yes it's a real Rolex but not working ? And to be honest without pulling her apart I had no idea what was the problem and or if I could source parts ??? Or if it could even be fixed ???

Her reply ?