Help on a Vintage Cosmograph 6240

Vintage Rolex Discussion

Help on a Vintage Cosmograph 6240

March 29th, 2012, 7:11 pm #1

Hi All,

I am a newbie. I am administrating an estate for a relative and I have found a pre-daytona rolex. I had it serviced and the service shop said it was real and that it was valuable. I have been trying to figure out exactly what it may be worth. I don't have pictures now as it is with a jeweler who is appraising it, but to be honest I am not sure vintage Rolexes are his speciality. It has been serviced, but shows wear. The paperwork indicates it is a 6240. It is SS with a black bezel, silver dial, and black sub dials. The band is SS links, but it has a lot of droop to it - it is pretty stretched. The dial indicates "Rolex Cosmograph"

My concern is that it has the old style non-screw down buttons - and my research indicates the 6240 was the first model with scew downs. Could it be some where made without?

Thanks!

March 29th, 2012, 8:21 pm #2

...if you take off the bracelet you will find the model number between the "12" lugs and the serial number between the "6" lugs, both of which would be helpful to know. As would pictures, of course. Could be the watch has a 6240 back but is a 6239 and that's what was noted on the paperwork.

Here is an early one for reference, albeit with DAYTONA and without "Oyster" (1st gen dial):

Good luck & hopefully you can show us some pix of this interesting watch.
Best,
T.

March 29th, 2012, 8:26 pm #3

...figuring a genuine pump pusher 6239 in decent or better condition, ballpark is around $20k-25k USD, depending on several variable factors.
Best,
T.

March 29th, 2012, 8:41 pm #4

...if you take off the bracelet you will find the model number between the "12" lugs and the serial number between the "6" lugs, both of which would be helpful to know. As would pictures, of course. Could be the watch has a 6240 back but is a 6239 and that's what was noted on the paperwork.