Does case pitting bother you and if so does it devalue the watch

Vintage Rolex Discussion

Does case pitting bother you and if so does it devalue the watch

November 27th, 2011, 12:40 pm #1

I am relatively new to the watch world, but before buying anything especially in the vintage lines, I prefer to do as much research as possible. Thanks to the web I have learnt so much, especially from this forum and from all the classified sections. I was looking at the 1960's explorers after googling for sale and noticed that although some are in very good condition on the outside, many of them have pits in a very vulnerable area such as under the case seals and case backs.

As a former metallurgy student, I find this a big turn off as these pits tend to grow as they cannot be arrested once they start. Now, I know for some this would not bother them as you cannot see them once the case is closed, however, knowing that the pits are there and are still burrowing through the case metal would compromise the watch case structure. I believe that the watch case can be even more important than the mechanism itself as once the case begins to be compromised then the movement is also vulnerable very much like having contracted a building company to build you a mansion but you have no land to build on.

Does pitting in these stainless steel cases devalue the watch or is it not a big issue amongst timepiece collectors? My understanding is that a lot of the vintage stainless steel model Rolex upto the 1988 are of 304L grade (18/10) stainless steel after we did an xrf analysis of the case confirmed by the molybdenum chemical test on a collegeues 16030 Datejust case which is the same stainless steel used in kitchen sinks.

November 27th, 2011, 2:07 pm #2