1530 Component Authentication

Vintage Rolex Discussion

March 28th, 2012, 5:37 pm #21

As my trusted Jewler/watchmaker is 'inconclusive' on being able to appraise this watch and provide authentication based upon these items, but is admittedly not a Vintage expert, I wanted to cast a wider net for opinion on the effect of the value.

I don't know that there is anything 'wrong' per-say with the case screw, just a part that contributed to the inconclusive rating.

He was very dismissive of the corrosion and I am getting the impression that is my major issue.

Do you recommend sending this to Rolex for verification per the jeweler?

-John
First of all, from a technical point of view - in my opinion - there is a big difference between it being technically possible to create a replica part - and then for it to actually happen. There is no doubt in my mind that Philip is correct regd. the possibilities of copying mechanical parts parts, but in my opinion - we are not there yet. F.ex. in order to create a complete "faked" movement for a typical Rolex you will need to create between 125-200 parts - which in turn has to be finished and assembled - and finally resold. While technically possible (to an extent) - the time, complexity and also cost of something like this is quite high. At least to an degree where you will have to produce and sell - a lot of these before you are close to break-even.