Interview #13

Interview #13

March 24th, 2007, 2:54 pm #1

Name: Glenn Gregg

1. How did you become involved with LST 325? (When, where, how did you first hear about the ship that might become/was the LST Ship Memorial)

I got a call from Linda Alvers at 8 a.m. one day and she said "Can you be in Gibraltar tonight?" That night I showed up at the LST unannounced.

2. What is your background - do you have a connection to LSTs or the Navy? Are you a veteran or the relative of a veteran who served aboard or was transported by these ships? (If you are a veteran, please also give information as to when and where you served, the duty you had.)

I am an Air Force veteran.

3. Have you served as a maintenance worker? What duties have you participated in along this area?

4. Have you served as a crew member? If so, what have been your duty stations?

I worked on the trip over from Gibraltar in the engine room with Rocky and Mac

5. Have you spoken to others about the Ship Memorial? (One on one or to groups. What types of events?)

I shot the History Channel documentary 'Return of LST 325'

6. If you could make a specific point about LST 325 (the ship or the people), what would it be?

I have 29 older brothers I didn't have before....

7. What is your favorite memory/recollection of regarding LST 325?

Captain Jornlin explaining how he made the decision to allow me to sail with the ship. (ask Lois)

8. Do you have a personal goal regarding your involvement with the ship? (A specific project, a personal achievement, an overall goal you want to see attained)

Just seeing the guys again in September!

9. What is the favorite 'sea story' you have told regarding the LST 325?

Almost getting tossed in the sea while filming during a storm.

10. What has been your favorite project regarding LST 325?

Getting it across the Atlantic!

11. What does the ship mean to you personally? What does it represent?

What can be achieved with a dedicated crew!