Saints win...up 3 gms to 2...& from where I sit...sweet

Saints win...up 3 gms to 2...& from where I sit...sweet

Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:27 am #1

Back home on Friday and they could be the first senior St. Kitts team (of any ilk) to win an Ontario crown since 1963. It's been a long time.

The BBA (often calm and sedate) was electric on Sunday...greatly looking forward to more on Friday.

I'm new to this team, but I am impressed with the organization's ability to hit stride after some pumps along the way. And never easy to make the long ride up hwy 6 on a weekday to meet a rested elite team and come away twice with wins.

Love cheering for the Ohsweken lads playing with the locals and to boot, a McCready and a McNulty there to help lead them on...just like it was 1963.

Yep, it's been a long time...as it was too in 1963...

THROUGH THE SPORTS GATE

by Jack Gatecliff

The St. Catharines Standard

September 10, 1963

ITS BEEN A LONG TIME

This is how long it has been since a team based in St. Catharines last won an Ontario and Eastern Canada senior lacrosse championship.

The year was 1946:

Ø The St. Catharines junior hockey team was known as the Falcons.

Ø Canadian troops were still returning from both Asia and Europe after the conclusion of World War II.

Ø Syl Apps was captain of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Ø Mickey Mantle was five years away from playing his first game with the Yankees.

Ø There was no Canadian television.

Ø Grey Cup tickets could be purchased the day of the game and the empty seats at Varsity Stadium out-numbered those filled.

Ø The fathers of two of the 1963 Athletics . . . Joe Cheevers and Doug Favell . . . were members of the Garden City team which defeated New Westminster Salmonbellies at Maple Leaf Gardens to win the Mann Cup.