Can a manager be on the bench?

Can a manager be on the bench?

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:36 am

Tue Jun 09, 2009 8:32 pm #1

Got a game tonite at7 with no trainer coming. I plan on borrowing the other teams.Can my manager be on my bench to help out? This is a minor rep game and she is ola carded as a manager. Thanks
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:00 pm

Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:08 pm #2

Unless she is carded as a coach or a trainer she can't be on the bench.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:40 pm

Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:15 pm #3

Yes a carded manager can be on the bench. There is a max of four staff on the bench, there can only be one trainer, but yes a Manager can go on the bench if they are carded and have signed the game sheet where it says manager.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:40 pm

Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:22 pm #4

MR2.12(a) states...

"No one but the player in uniform, MANAGER, coach and suitable attired trainer shall be permitted to occupy the bench so provided. Maximum of four (4) non-playing personnel allowed on the bench."
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 2:18 am

Tue Jun 09, 2009 11:14 pm #5

I argued MR2.12(a) at the Bantam Provincials a few years ago and lost. I also pointed out that the game sheet has a spot for the "Manager OR Assistant Coach" to sign. I understand, and agree with, the intent that all bench personnel be carded as a Coach or Trainer but that is not what the words say.

Quote
Like
Share

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:00 pm

Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:51 am #6

MR2.12(a) states...

"No one but the player in uniform, MANAGER, coach and suitable attired trainer shall be permitted to occupy the bench so provided. Maximum of four (4) non-playing personnel allowed on the bench."
MR2.12(a) does not state manager....at least not in the 2009 Rules and Regulations, and not in any one I have seen and also read MR2.12(b)

but the biggest one would be common sense...why would all the organizations go crazy with the changes to the coaching certification....they could have just all sent in Manager cards
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 2:18 am

Wed Jun 10, 2009 2:29 am #7

but the 2006 and earlier OLA Rules and Regulations DID include "Manager". I don't have my 2007 copy handy so I don't know what it says but in the 2008 and 2009 R&R's, MR2.12(a) DOES NOT include "Manager". It's good to see that this loophole was closed.

Quote
Like
Share

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:24 am

Wed Jun 10, 2009 12:54 pm #8

Yes, 2007 did include "manager", and may be the reason for the confussion.
Quote
Like
Share