2007 Iroquois Nationals

This forum is now archived. Please post Sr. B & Can-Am info in the Unofficial OLA Fan Forum.

2007 Iroquois Nationals

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am

Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:27 am #1

<hr color=purple>
For Immediate Release
Iroquois Nationals Announce Management Team for 2007 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships

Onondaga, NY -- The Iroquois Nationals are proud to announce the staff that will manage the program’s entry in the 2007 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships, in Halifax , Nova Scotia , Canada . Leading the Nationals will be Head Coach Duane Jacobs, Assistant Coaches Randy Chrysler and Jason Johnson, General Manager Lewis Morris, and Assistant General Manager Kevin Sandy.

"It is a privilege and honor for me to be selected as the Head Coach of the Iroquois Nationals 2007 World Box Lacrosse Team. My coaching staff and I look forward to flooring a young aggressive team that is hungry for Gold in Halifax come May 2007," said Jacobs. Jacobs currently serves as Head Coach of the National Lacrosse League’s Minnesota Swarm and has previously served as an Assistant Coach of the Buffalo Bandits. He also has eleven seasons of experience as a player in the NLL.

Randy Chrysler brings his wealth of experience as Head Coach of Junior ‘A’ powerhouse the Six Nations Arrows-Express to the Iroquois Nationals staff. Chrysler will be overseeing the Nationals’ defense. Joining him on Jacobs’ coaching staff is Arrows-Express Coach Jason Johnson, who will be in charge of the Nationals’ offense. Perennial Minto Cup finalists, the Arrows-Express have been a force to be reckoned with under Chrysler and Johnson. The Minto Cup is awarded to the Canadian Junior ‘A’ Box Lacrosse Champion.

Lewis Morris, General Manager of the Akwesasne Lightning Junior ‘B’ team, will supervise all aspects of team operations in the same role with the Nationals. Kevin Sandy, who has been active in the Six Nations area as a coach and administrator for the North American Indigenous Games, Junior and Senior ‘B’ box lacrosse, and field lacrosse, will serve as Assistant General Manager.

The Nationals also named J.J. Blitstein as Assistant to the Interim Executive Director, where he will aid with team logistical and business operations.

The Iroquois Nationals Board of Directors consists of Interim Executive Director Leo Nolan, Chief Oren Lyons, Denis Waterman, David Bray, Frank David, Barbara Barnes, Freeman and Joanie Bucktooth, and Tonya Gonnella Frichner.

The Nationals will have open tryouts on December 23rd from 4:00 to 7:00 PM, at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena, Six Nations , Ontario , Canada . Interested players should contact General Manager Lewis Morris at lmorris@akwesasne.ca or Assistant General Manager Kevin Sandy at kvsandy@rogers.com or 519-732-0387.

The Iroquois Nationals represent the Haudenosaunee (meaning “People of the Longhouse,” the name the Iroquois call themselves), Six Nations, Iroquois Confederacy in international lacrosse competition. Long acknowledged as the originators of the modern game of lacrosse, the Iroquois are recognized by the International Lacrosse Federation as a sovereign nation. The Nationals have a partnership with Nike Inc. for uniforms and apparel, as well as community programs, and Brine Lacrosse for equipment.

The 2007 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships will take place in Halifax , Nova Scotia , Canada from May 14-20. The Nationals were awarded the Silver Medal at the Inaugural World Indoor Lacrosse Championships, in 2003.

For more information, please go to http://www.iroquoisnationals.com/