Question About the McMaster Bridge Blueprints

Joined: February 28th, 2017, 9:58 pm

February 28th, 2017, 9:58 pm #1

Hello Everyone,

Long time lurker, but first time poster.

Like many people, I've always dreamed of building my own TOS bridge, but for now I'll just have to settle for building a virtual version.

A long time ago I made pretty good progress on building the bridge, but I'm afraid my 3d modeling skills weren't quite up to the task.  But I've decided to give it another go.

Until your site came along, the McMaster blueprints of the TOS Bridge seemed to be main source for anyone wishing to create their own bridge.  However, in looking at your site I see that there are numerous differences.  I greatly respect what Michael McMaster did, considering that he was proworking from publicity images and film stills.

My question is - How accurate are the McMaster blueprints?

(Sorry if this opens up a can of worms...)
 
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 29th, 2007, 8:38 am

March 1st, 2017, 3:55 pm #2

No can of worms at all. The McMaster blueprints were certainly an amazing accomplishment for there time and still it's amazing how much he got right but time has proven them to be not so accurate.
<p><br></p>
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: February 28th, 2017, 9:58 pm

April 20th, 2018, 4:59 pm #3

I've started from scratch on building a 3d model of the TOS Enterprise Bridge.

This model is being built so that 1 unit in the computer equals 1 foot.

At this stage I feel like there are three issues with the McMaster blueprints:

1. Drafting Errors, i.e., mirroring issues (e.g., between left/right sides), and mismatched measurements between different plan views (e.g., top and side).
2.  Additional / Elaborating on Details, i.e., missing cross section through the center of the controls console; details on the construction of the stairs; plan views of the overhead display insets; the vents at the base of the consoles; plan views of the red alert indicator, dedication plaque, and turbolift diagram.
3.  Correcting Errors between the McMaster blueprints and set photos.

Here are a couple of images of my WIP 3d model.  I still have a long ways to go on the details, but I think the basic shapes are there.





Cheers,

-Tom
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: February 28th, 2017, 9:58 pm

May 5th, 2018, 9:09 pm #4

Hey Everyone,

Here's a set of the bridge buttons based on Page 10 of the McMaster blueprints.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/iwkw62uffwbl6 ... l.zip?dl=0

Zipped, and in .obj format.

Enjoy!

-Tc
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 29th, 2007, 8:38 am

May 7th, 2018, 12:37 pm #5

FWIW, those are nice but not accurate compared to the actual measurements of the screen-used buttons.
<p><br></p>
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: February 28th, 2017, 9:58 pm

May 8th, 2018, 9:14 am #6

feek61 wrote: FWIW, those are nice but not accurate compared to the actual measurements of the screen-used buttons.
Thanks Feek61!

I know these are not accurate, but I felt like i needed to start somewhere.

Building my model based on the McMaster blueprints, and then accurizing it seems to be the best way to go. At least that way I have something to base the corrections on.

I've been collecting dimensions of the screen used buttons.  I think I have all of them except for the triangular buttons, and of the rectangular buttons used on the right-hand side of the science station.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: February 28th, 2017, 9:58 pm

May 10th, 2018, 5:01 pm #7

Here's my stab at making screen accurate buttons.

I have not included the triangular buttons, the toggle switches, or the rocker switches.

Any feedback would be appreciated!
SA_bridge_buttons.zip (1.62 MiB)
Quote
Like
Share