August 29th, 2018, 1:42 pm #11

I have no dog in this race, but thought it worthwhile to note I'd definitely steam clean anything that came from a semen distribution company too.
There are some thing I just won't deal with.
And I transport corpses for a living.

August 29th, 2018, 2:32 pm #12

Back when I was in scouts as an Explorer (that's scouting of high school age) we held our meetings in some space Dow made available in one of their engineering labs.  Not really into mechanical stuff quite yet I didn't take a lot of interest in too much of the wild stuff that was sitting around some evenings when we rolled in.  I do remember the first ultrasonic cleaners and etchers I saw there, also some really cool mixers, which had a little Teflon encased magnetic rod sitting in the bottom of a tub which was propelled by a magnetic field, either mechanically or electronically generated means.  Cool stuff.

August 29th, 2018, 2:51 pm #13

I'd suggest you try CitraSOLV.  My employer buys it by the drum to de-grease particularly large anodized aluminum parts - and it smells nice to boot.

August 29th, 2018, 3:57 pm #14

I have a smallish ultrasonic cleaner that I use for small model stuff and personal items, it lives in my shop.  SWMBO likes to clean her jewelry so I bring it inside once in a while and set it up for her.  You can improve the cleaning by 'tuning' the cavity using variable depths - start cleaning and add a little water at a time until you can see the cleaning action improve (or hear it - hard to describe but the harmonics seem to change).

September 5th, 2018, 5:22 pm #15

I would suggest dish soap and water. That should be adequate for most paintball grunge, particularly with heat. Don't use dishwasher detergent though.

September 5th, 2018, 5:46 pm #16

Ive used pine-sol to clean carbs before, but it can discolor them if you leave it too long. But we are talking 1980's honda aluminum here. 
__