Steampunk Computer build thread

August 20th, 2018, 6:36 pm #1

Always wanted to build a steam-punk type computer. The aesthetic just appeals to me. Plenty of reference material online.  I've been collecting components for a few years and am finally ready to start laying track.

So the idea is to make it fully water-cooled (plumbed in mostly copper, of course) and have as many cool dials and widgets as possible but functional, I'm just just going to bolt a gear to the side and thread a gauge into it and say "look steampunk" to me that's a bit of a cop-out to the genre.

I intend to build the entire thing from scratch, not intending to mod an existing case.

here is some sample art and a few mock-ups I've done, I'll post more as things are finalized.

update_6.jpg
The overall form is still a work-in-progress, nothing is "bolted in" yet. The Black-And-White monitor will be functional, and displayed from a RaspberryPi daughter board

update_5.jpg
The switches are not going to have exposed 120VAC don't worry. I will probably have them switch relays or something, or just be logic-level enables

update_4.jpg
it's not steampunk unless there is a cool nixie-tube display. This will probably show coolant temperature or time or something
update_3.jpg
Playing with component placings

20170502_233253.jpg
Such a cool water pump I had to incorporate it
20170502_233207.jpg
All-copper radiator
20170502_233150.jpg
I can actually cause these needles to deflect, will probably show system temperature or flow rate or something

Lots more images coming, I've only shown about 1/2 of the stuff I have, but I need to get my head around a bit more for display purposes.

look ahead though, I've got one of these on order: 

-Curt
20170502_233311.jpg
20170502_233311.jpg

August 20th, 2018, 7:00 pm #2

Noice!

One thing you can't forget, although you might have to custom-make for that angled front fascia, is corner trim. Something like this or this.