looking for flash light recomendations

looking for flash light recomendations

eisch
eisch

December 3rd, 2011, 3:25 pm #1

ok here is what I want..

I am a electrician so I will have this with me at all times in a holster. metal will be fine. all my other tools are metal and I'm not dead yet...

would like led but needs to be super brite... 200 lumen minimum maybe 300+
probably dont need rechargeable. to keep price under control.

would prefer small and thin if a choice is avalable.

I have been using cheep multi led junk flash lights and am not impressed.

one of my workers has a rayovak roughneck with a 3 watt single led that is nice but I think I can do better..

not interested in building my own at this time.. BUT if I do like it I may modify my dewalt 18volt flex light to led... bet I could get some good wattage out of that..

thanks...

Nighthawke
Nighthawke

December 3rd, 2011, 4:46 pm #2

The AA-sized Maglite with an LED conversion kit. I'm using one and it does a fine job.

They also sell the XL50 3-AAA LED light.

sniper1rfa
sniper1rfa

December 3rd, 2011, 5:44 pm #3

is quite good for the $10 or whatever it costs.

The mag XL50 uses the same LED, but it's a better package for heat so it's run at much higher wattage. Again, also pretty cheap, but I think it's a little clumsier to handle.

Bruce Bergman
Bruce Bergman

December 3rd, 2011, 5:51 pm #4

ok here is what I want..

I am a electrician so I will have this with me at all times in a holster. metal will be fine. all my other tools are metal and I'm not dead yet...

one of my workers has a rayovak roughneck with a 3 watt single led that is nice but I think I can do better..

not interested in building my own at this time.. BUT if I do like it I may modify my dewalt 18volt flex light to led... bet I could get some good wattage out of that..

thanks...