What else do you play?

Robert Hickman
Quadruple Ocarinist
Quadruple Ocarinist

November 10th, 2014, 7:16 pm #1

What other instruments can you play besides ocarina?

I play boehm system flute, and started 'messing around' with fiddle in the last few months. Also started learning 'French style' bagpipes but don't have a set at the moment.

Mark Chan
Quadruple Ocarinist x 5
Quadruple Ocarinist x 5

November 10th, 2014, 7:21 pm #2

I just started playing Native American Flute this past weekend. I like it. But for the music I want to play, I wish there were flutes tuned to pentatonic major scale though. I'm sure they exist. I haven't really searched.
Last edited by Mark Chan on November 10th, 2014, 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jack Campin
Premium Poster
Premium Poster

November 10th, 2014, 7:26 pm #3

wrote:I wish there were flutes tuned to pentatonic major scale though.
I think that's what the "Choroi" used by the Steiner/Waldorf schools is. I tried one once and hated it.

Mark Chan
Quadruple Ocarinist x 5
Quadruple Ocarinist x 5

November 10th, 2014, 7:32 pm #4

Jack Campin wrote:I think that's what the "Choroi" used by the Steiner/Waldorf schools is. I tried one once and hated it.
I searched for videos on YouTube, and they seem pretty cool. :)

Robert Hickman
Quadruple Ocarinist
Quadruple Ocarinist

November 10th, 2014, 7:35 pm #5

Mark Chan wrote:I just started playing Native American Flute this past weekend. I like it. But for the music I want to play, I wish there were flutes tuned to pentatonic major scale though. I'm sure they exist. I haven't really searched.
What's the tradition of the music behind them and how are they tuned? Is it standardized or vary between makers?

Don't remember running into one in the UK, guess it hasn't spread much beyond America yet.

Gyzyn
Triple Ocarinist x 4
Triple Ocarinist x 4

November 10th, 2014, 7:38 pm #6

Digital-piano/synthesizer, recorder, and barely tranverse flute.

Ocarinadiva
Premium Poster
Premium Poster