STL Aria: Very disappointed

simon
Pendant Ocarinist x 3
Pendant Ocarinist x 3
simon
Pendant Ocarinist x 3
Pendant Ocarinist x 3

April 26th, 2018, 3:22 pm #1

A bit of background: I pretty new to ocarina (so feel free to take my view with a pinch of salt), however, I have been playing music on other instruments for many years (including recorder).

First the benchmark: I recently bought a Stein Model D - It was my first ceramic ocarina. I cost less than the Aria and arrived with a padded bag, cleaning tool and microfibre cloth. It's matte black and this is clearly part of the firing process. The finish is immaculate, indestructible and silky smooth.

Even as a beginner I was able to produce clean focused notes right off the bat. The intonation is perfect and apart from the top E note, it's pretty much free from breathiness. It doesn't seem to require an acute bend to play higher notes.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Much as I'm growing to love my Stein ocarina, I wondered if I could get something a little better, and the long tail of the Aria (for ease of playing) particularly appealed to me.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Aria arrived today - It cost quite a bit more than the Stein. The box contains no padded bag or extras other than a very thin book of John Dowland tunes (which are easily available for free online)

My first major shock was the finish, it's horrible (particularly when compared to the Stein). It's semi-gloss with faint brushmarks and it's tacky to the touch. Rather than a glaze, this ocarina seems to have had black paint applied to it after firing - and it's not fully dried. Just to test, I scratched the underside of the instrument with my fingernail, and sure enough, the black paint came away showing white beneath it. Needless to say, this is probably the worst possible texture for smooth finger movement.