Soren Ocarina Making

Soren
Inline Ocarinist x 2
Inline Ocarinist x 2

September 11th, 2018, 2:55 pm #1

Last week, I took vacation time from work so I could dedicate my time to making ocarinas for a special local market coming on Saturday. I have been making ocarinas since 2011, with sporadic batches of 5-10 every few months, but this is by far the largest group I have yet made. Eight of the ocarinas were made at the end of August and fired in a group, followed by 18 ocarinas in the group made and fired in September.

All ocarinas I currently make are single chamber C3 Alto ocarinas with 12-holes (excluding one 13-hole ocarina with an additional low G). Range is typical for 12-hole ocarinas, playing fully chromatically from A4 SPN to F6 SPN. Some have a tuning hole while others do not.

Some ocarinas are made with colored clay, both terracotta clay with iron oxide as well as clays stained with oxides and/or Mason Stains (all are food-safe, but will be glazed to ensure this, as the ocarina airway comes in direct contact with the mouth when playing). White body clay is my main choice, as I found the difficulty with changing colors too often. I will be continuing to use terracotta orange and dark red sometimes, as well as developing black clay and some other body colors to be used for batches in the future. Glazes are a much easier way to alter the color, as they do not require a constant cleaning of the work area and tools like body colors do, and risk of cross-contamination is not nearly as great.

So far, I am quite happy with the results, though the ocarinas still need to be glazed and fired again. Making ocarinas allows me to customize these ocarinas to my personal preferences, which is a huge advantage for any ocarina player. The main reason I make ocarinas is a pursuit towards making my own ideal ocarina.

More information will follow after Saturday's market.

Here is a group photo:
Ocarina Maker and Player

OberonOcarinas
Triple Ocarinist
Triple Ocarinist