New to wood elves. 2000 points?

Zargothrax
Citizen of the Glade
Zargothrax
Citizen of the Glade

May 4 2014, 01:06 PM #1

So I'm new to wood elves and I've only played a few fantasy games in general. Trying to write up a list for 2000 points. I don't want a list that will lose every game, but I don't need to win every game, either. More interested in having fun.
This is what I have so far (comes to 2001 points. Our group allows a 5 point buffer either way)

Lord:
-Spellweaver
level 4
Asrai Longbow
Acorns of the Ages

Heroes:
-Spellsinger
level 2
Asrai Longbow
Calaingor's Stave
Dispell Scroll

-Glade Captain
Shield
Arcane Bodkins
Daith's Reaper

Core:
-Glade Guard x16
Lord's Bowman
Standard Bearer
Trueflight Arrows

-Dryads x24
Branch Nymph

Special:
-Warhawk Riders x4
Wind Rider

- Sisters of the Thorn x10
Handmaiden of the Thorn
Standard Bearer

Rare:
-Treeman
Strangleroots

-Waywatchers x6
Waywatcher Sentinel

Elberneth
Citizen of the Glade
Elberneth
Citizen of the Glade

May 4 2014, 02:17 PM #2

Hey Zargothrax - welcome to the forum!

It's good to hear that you've chosen to join us in protecting Athel Loren!
Just had a quick look at your list - you've taken some command options that are generally not needed in your units: generally speaking it's only ever worth getting a champion (eg the Lord's Bowman) in close combat units. The same goes for the Standard Bearer. With that said, it might be better to field just a musician in your units where you can get them (rallying is important).

Where is your Glade Captain going? With the Glade Guard? The Daith's Reaper may be a wee bit excessive if that's the case.

Spellweaver - awesome choice for a HQ
Warhawk Riders - can probably drop the Wind Rider

Dryads - Dryads have been nerfer in our new army book, and are better used as chaff units / body blockers. 24 may be a bit excessive.