Kenpo Forms question

Kenpo Forms question

January 30th, 2009, 4:37 am #1

I'm new to EPAK does all forms have Side A & B? Or is that only for the lower ranks?

Remember "Train Strong to Remain Strong"........

January 30th, 2009, 4:47 am #2

The forms are balanced. Form 1 is first the right and then left side. Other forms have the "left" side integrated. RLRLRLRL

It can be helpful to practice a form's mirror image. Doing a form starting with the left side rather than right can reveal some things you would have otherwise missed. Doing them backwards can reveal even more. (Like the fact that you feel like an idiot when trying it with more advanced forms).

Take it out on the heavy bag,

Chuck Peterson
peterson_charlie@hotmail.com

January 30th, 2009, 5:51 pm #3

I'm new to EPAK does all forms have Side A & B? Or is that only for the lower ranks?

Hi J.C.

You should do all the forms up to long 3 on both sides, meaning that when you finish the form and come back to your meditating Horse Stance, you do the form again but then on the other side. Short Form 3 is the last form you should do like this. Long 3 and up are allready both sides.

Hope this helps.

Nice regards and remember to:

Train Hard;
Train Regularly;
Train Inteligently and
TO MAKE NO EXCUSES!!!!

Osu,

Richard Baarspul
Jeff Speakman's Kenpo 5.0 - The Netherlands
www.jeffspeakman.nl
www.kenpoonline.tk

January 30th, 2009, 6:18 pm #4

Chuck Peterson was right--and also no, it's not a difference of opinion.

This ties in to the whole, "make your kenpo perfectly symmetrical," vs. "kenpo is a right-sided system," argument. Basically, the prob is that pushing the symmetry isn't possible--the body isn't symmetrical, and kenpo isn;t, or we'd step out to the right half the time.