Info request

Info request

December 20th, 2007, 2:16 pm #1

Hi All

I started my journey (adventure, some call it) in the martial arts in 1980 studying Shotokan karate. In 1981 I joined a local Kenpo club that called itself "Ed Parker's Advanced American Kenpo". I studied it for a number of years until I met someone who actually studied with Mr Parker. That person was Mr Ed Downey, who brought along Mr John Conway Jr to conduct a seminar in our club.

The Kenpo I started in was of John McSweeney's lineage, who was a student of Parker's, but McSweeney diverged when Parker wanted to update the system, wanting instead to keep what he trusted to work and eschew the sophistication Mr Parker was developing.

Although quite different in many respects, it gave me a good grounding for my later years studying under Mr Downey.

In the old system, we had no names for techniques, and the Forms were different. For example, Short 1 was simply Blocking Form, Long One was Form 1, Short 2 was on the end of Form 1 instead of the Short 1 triplets. Also our modern Short 3 was the old Form 2, the modern Long 2 was Form 3 and the Book Set was the old Form 4. Long 3 was the old Form 5, and so on. Angles and some weaponry were different, and stances were bigger as were the circular motions used.

The things that interest me are as follows:

How did the Forms come to change from those taught by McSweeney to the modern Forms and who was involved?

When did the techniques start getting names and why?

Are there any of the 'Old Timers' who were contemporaries of John McSweeney still training?

I might think of some others but this will get me started. I want to write an article about the subject so any information is gratefully received.

December 20th, 2007, 10:50 pm #2