hip movement in kicking

hip movement in kicking

June 16th, 2011, 4:13 am #1

Hello everyone! I'm new to Kenponet Forum and am looking for someone to shed some light on something I've been confused about for a while now. I've heard that there is a certain way to move the hips when executing a kick, whether front, side, round, hook, back,etc., so that you not only obtain maximum power in your kick but avoid hip damage in the long run as well.

So what exactly are these hip movements? 3rd degree brown belt and I've never actually been taught these hip movements. Any enlightenment on this topic would be greatly appreciated.Thanks so much in advance!

Mike

June 17th, 2011, 2:14 am #2

waiting for an answer on KN is like watching paint dry. But I digress,

Watch out, Kenpo Koolaide is about to be dispensed......

Your hips rotate on two axial points, I call them,

X (clockwise and counter clockwise parallel to the ground)
Y (vertically up and down from front to to back and back to front).

Combine them and you get the Hula motion of XY (both clock or counter clock and vertically up/down.

Side thrust kick, using the knife edge of the foot, aiming with the hip and rotating on the ball of the opposite foot for extension; Hip rotation on the XY equal parts

Front Thrusting ball kick, using the ball of the foot, aiming with the knee and passing through the point of no return; Hip rotation on the Y axial

Arcing Roundhouse kick, using the ball of the foot sweeping up from the ground aiming with the knee and impacting upward in to the body cavity; Hip rotation on the X (the hips are no longer parallel to the ground but it's still the same.) There is less rotation because the kick acts more like a straight kick than a up/out/over/extension/retraction roundhouse kick. (The arcing kick gets there faster and does not expose you to a counter.)

Back HEEL kick, using the heel with the toes of the kicking foot as vertically aligned as possible; Hip rotation on the Y axial