West Opening Day + a qestion about teaching

West Opening Day + a qestion about teaching

November 10th, 2005, 3:10 am #1

After classes today at BCC I took my girlfriend up to West to teach her to board. I figured I might as well teach her on not so great days early season so that I can enjoy the good stuff later. She did 1 run in 1 hour. Good thing we have passes.

Question for everyone:
She couldn't stand up on the board very well and her balance is relatively bad. I had to hold her to even get her to slideslip. Anyone know of things she can do at home to practice balance?

November 10th, 2005, 4:29 am #2

From my experience I just had my wife try and try and try. She eventually got her legs under her and it didn't take too long after that for her to start zip'n down the hill (stopping is something else). One suggestion is DON'T WAX HER BOARD if she is using her own stuff. The slower the board, the easier to learn.... I'm not an expert as far as lessons go, and there may be instructors who will say I'm way off base, but these are my suggestions. I can't think of anything to do at home that could replicate a snowboard on snow.

November 10th, 2005, 6:58 am #3

If balance is an issue, there are numerous balance boards that aren't too expensive, but personally, I'd just go with what you got. Have her stand on one leg for 30 seconds, knee slightly bent. If that gets easy, have her stand on a cushion, same thing. If that gets easy, have her stand on a cushion - eyes closed - same thing. Alternate legs, of course.

That might help a bit (but try it yourself before prescribing it for her), but I'm with Jack in that just practice, practice, practice is best. A lesson wouldn't hurt at all either. Remember: Practice doesn't make perfect, practice makes permanent. Make sure that what she's doing on the hill is correct so she doesn't develop bad habits.

Good luck!

Moses
Moses

November 10th, 2005, 8:29 pm #4