Which language would you choose in grade 6?

Which language would you choose in grade 6?

May 9th, 2012, 12:10 am #1

My school-smart niece was trying to make a decision for next years grade 6 curriculum choices. The choices are
French
Italian
Latin
Spanish

What did you choose or what would you suggest?

May 9th, 2012, 1:24 am #2

If so (most likely Spanish) then I would encourage the child to chose it. That being said, if the child wants to study a specific one--go with that. The motivation will be there to learn it. I am studying Spanish as an adult because there is a need for it in my workplace. My children both chose German in school and do well with it in class. Opportunities to use it here are slim, but they both would like to visit or live in Germany sometime.

--Kim

May 9th, 2012, 1:36 am #3

My school-smart niece was trying to make a decision for next years grade 6 curriculum choices. The choices are
French
Italian
Latin
Spanish

all other languages except Latin, will be easy after that one. French is spoken in almost as many places as Spanish and the Spanish your kids would learn would most likely be classic spanish and not the latin american versions of mexico, central america or south america.

May 9th, 2012, 1:48 am #4

French
Italian
Latin
Spanish

oh I wish I had learned some latin. My granny knew it a little bit. Biology and even many words have a basis in Latin, and it helps (based on what I observed of those in school who had some latin in high school)

otherwise, Spanish is the easiest.

but French is fun.

Myra in West Texas

May 9th, 2012, 2:48 am #5