Prepare ahead meals

Prepare ahead meals

January 1st, 2012, 4:52 pm #1

I need ideas for prepare ahead meals.

What are your family favorites?
glendaMO

January 1st, 2012, 5:01 pm #2

I guess you are talking about making ahead & putting in the freezer?

Lasagna, and meat loaf and mashed potatoes come to mind. I'm not really good at preparing a whole meal ahead Edited to add: Almost any soup freezes well.

What is easiest for me is to prepare parts of a meal (the hard parts) and keep them in the freezer for quick meals. For example, chicken tacos. I cook the chicken, shred it, and put it in the freezer in bags. Then, on that day, just pull out a bag of chicken, thaw it, add the other ingredients and it's a meal.

------
The road to success is always under construction.
Last edited by TxNet on January 1st, 2012, 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

January 1st, 2012, 5:08 pm #3

but somethings that I can prepare on my day off, that will make having dinner ready easier tomorrow, or the next day.
glendaMO

January 1st, 2012, 5:27 pm #4

I try to make at least twice what I need so I can put the rest in the freezer and always have a meal ready when I need it. I think as far as prepping a day or two before, the main thing is just to know what you are going to cook so you get started on it. Menu planning is the hardest thing for me. Do you still have some of Debi's once a month cooking recipes? Don't know that I am that motivated and can't remember any of them. But if you know what is on your menu, there are always things you can do ahead to save time when you cook.

January 1st, 2012, 6:48 pm #5

but somethings that I can prepare on my day off, that will make having dinner ready easier tomorrow, or the next day.