oneofmurphysbiscuits
Forum junkie

6:58 AM - Sep 06, 2017 #31

redhead wrote:That would mean that Swedish translation has been finalized, so if the SA wanted the translation, they'd have it. Also, I'm still new to Krasznahorkai. Is Seiobo a relatively good starting point?
You might well like it very much, red, given the breadth, depth of your readings in Asian literatures. Perhaps and for insight in to things predicated (Sontag's famous "apocalyptic" descriptor) you could try " The Melancholy of Resistance"(I've sometimes bought that for people by way of an introduction to). My favourites so far are War & War and Animalinside, and as much as I revere the man, and I do, I really did not like Destruction and Sorrow Beneath The Heavens at all and as I said in the ..reading now thread in November.
I only think, if that is the name for this vertiginous panic as of hornets smoked out of their nests, once a certain degree of terror has been exceeded

Funhouse
Forum junkie
Funhouse
Forum junkie

12:40 PM - Sep 06, 2017 #32

Didi wrote:One outside chance for this prize who is starting to get recognised both locally and at the international level:

Yankunytjatjara / Kokatha kunga Ali Cobby Eckermann

It would be a great cause for celebration if an Australian aboriginal woman won the prize. Through poetry she confronts history with force.
Hmm, interesting suggestion. I would have thought she doesn't have the body of work to be considered over the likes of Les Murray or Gerald Murnane if they're thinking Australian. She did win the American-based Windham-Campbell Prize earlier this year. And that was won last year by Helen Garner, who could probably be considered a reasonable candidate for the Nobel.