Losing formatting with copy/paste

Joined: February 14th, 2018, 3:45 pm

February 14th, 2018, 4:17 pm #1

I'm a newbie here, so hope I am doing this correctly.

Since the migration from yuku, whenever I do a copy/paste in a thread I lose some of my formatting. For example if I copy/paste a line that is bolded with a color.......I lose both the bold and color.

How can I fix this?

https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/4foodfr ... /index.php
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 20th, 2017, 2:28 am

February 14th, 2018, 6:04 pm #2

This is expected behaviour. When you c/p, the editor will act as a Tx, it removes the formatting from the pasted text.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: February 14th, 2018, 3:45 pm

February 14th, 2018, 6:07 pm #3

Chrisw wrote: This is expected behaviour. When you c/p, the editor will act as a Tx, it removes the formatting from the pasted text.
Not the answer that I wanted. lol.

Is there anyway around this?
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 20th, 2017, 2:28 am

February 15th, 2018, 7:36 pm #4

Not that I know of. What are you C/P ing?
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: February 14th, 2018, 3:45 pm

February 16th, 2018, 5:06 pm #5

Thanks, Chris.

We keep a lot of daily lists such as.......

Tagged FEBRUARY 2nd

When we copy that for the next day.......we lose our formatting (color and bold). We can clean that up.....it's just an annoyance and we were hoping that there was a way around it.

We also do a big project every summer. Four of us, each work on several threads with lots of photos and formatting. When we c/p them over to make them public for our members.......we have to re-apply all of the formatting. Some of us can get some things to work with a c/p from Word.........some of us can't.

We're just looking for an easier way to do this so that we don't have to spend time cleaning up the formatting.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 20th, 2017, 2:28 am

February 16th, 2018, 7:48 pm #6

If your lists contain the same items, but you just make a few changes, an option would be to copy the threads via the moderator tools, then edit it with the new additions. Have you tried that?
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: February 14th, 2018, 3:45 pm

February 16th, 2018, 9:48 pm #7

Chrisw wrote: If your lists contain the same items, but you just make a few changes, an option would be to copy the threads via the moderator tools, then edit it with the new additions. Have you tried that?
hmmm...........I don't know anything about the moderator tools yet. I'll go hunt them down and see if that will help. Thanks for the tip. 😊
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 20th, 2017, 2:28 am

February 19th, 2018, 4:27 pm #8

Look below the quick reply box for a hammer icon. The moderator tools are in that menu :)
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: February 14th, 2018, 3:45 pm

February 20th, 2018, 2:42 pm #9

Thanks. I think this will be helpful for some of the stuff that we do. Just wish it had 'give a member an edit button' to the list. lol.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: April 20th, 2017, 2:28 am

February 20th, 2018, 4:59 pm #10

You can give members the edit option, it is in the settings.
Quote
Like
Share