“Please continue to pray for Lipscomb University.”

“Please continue to pray for Lipscomb University.”

February 20th, 2006, 11:18 pm #1

http://www.piney.com/Lipscomb.Universit ... lliam.html

E-Mail: Lipscomb U.? see what you think about this

-----Original Message-----
From: __________@bellsouth.net [[url=mailto:_________@bellsouth.net]_________@bellsouth.net[/url]]
Sent: Tuesday, February 07, 2006 11:45 AM
To: Donnie Cruz
Subject: RE: Lipscomb U.? see what you think about this

Hello Everyone,

Please continue to pray for Lipscomb University. I am a 2002 Lipscomb graduate and my girlfriend is still attending there and she said that the required University Bible (UB) session that meets on Tuesdays and Thursdays has offended many people in just the first 3 weeks of the semester.

Lee Camp, Lipscomb Bible faculty member and head of UB this semester, offered a disclaimer during UB last week saying (this is a paraphrase) that this semester's UB study of Psalms will "help everyone step out of their comfort zones and experience the book of Psalms in a way that they may have been unaware of." That same day a guitar sat in the middle of Allen Arena where Chapel and UB is held. After having a "closing prayer," a guy grabbed the guitar and sang a song he wrote about one of the Psalms.

A friend of mine who also attends Lipscomb sent an email to Lee Camp, Terry BrileyDean of the Bible Department, Randy Lowrynew president of Lipscomb (from Pepperdine), Craig Bledsoeprovost, Walt Leaver, and Jeff Wilson. He stated in his email how the performance was not Scriptural and violated his conscience. He also stated that since a student is only allowed 6 skips of UB per semester, he cannot skip every one of them and be kicked out of school, so he suggested to them to either stop what they are doing or offer another option for students who were offended. The following Thursday, a full-blown rock band was brought in for UB and as a result, a number of students walked out.