Radiator

Radiator

November 16th, 2016, 4:04 pm #1

Ok, finally have a price on fixing my radiator. Seems the core was shot. I have two options--1 is to use the tanks off of mine and then the guy will put a new core in--price is $525. Second is to have a new aluminum radiator put in place of the old one--all the brackets, fill neck, etc. would be the same after some work done to it--price is $475. I really don't like either option in terms of price. I know I have heard of much cheaper options--and as usual I am new to this sort of thing so need advice---what do I have to look at when getting a new radiator? I know Kim mentioned $150 for a radiator--I know I would lose the "look" with that but what else do I have to consider?

Thx

November 16th, 2016, 7:59 pm #2

Ya it was pricy, but I used my orig. tanks & had a modern high flow core put in, could not be happier. Never goes over 180, even in stop & go traffic @ 100 degrees outside.

November 17th, 2016, 1:09 am #3

Ok, finally have a price on fixing my radiator. Seems the core was shot. I have two options--1 is to use the tanks off of mine and then the guy will put a new core in--price is $525. Second is to have a new aluminum radiator put in place of the old one--all the brackets, fill neck, etc. would be the same after some work done to it--price is $475. I really don't like either option in terms of price. I know I have heard of much cheaper options--and as usual I am new to this sort of thing so need advice---what do I have to look at when getting a new radiator? I know Kim mentioned $150 for a radiator--I know I would lose the "look" with that but what else do I have to consider?

Thx
Jeff I have a clean rad you may want. needs new filler lip swetted on. bought this 49 2r15 with 52 v8 in it for parts only. I'm in Bagley MN on Hwy 2. $200. Call me... Terry 218 766 three136.

November 17th, 2016, 4:51 pm #4

I have a few rad done they charge me 100.00 per core , in that rad you can go up to 4 cores