Seiko auto divers vs Citizen auto divers..pros&cons?

Seiko auto divers vs Citizen auto divers..pros&cons?

June 13th, 2002, 6:44 pm #1

Hello,
I am new to the diver watch scene. I'd be interested in some comments/opinions on comparisons between the Seiko and Citizen 200m automatic diver watches. For example let's assume the comparisons center around Citizen NY0045-05E or NY0040-09E and the Seiko SKX007k or SKX009k.
All these watches seem to be priced competitively,I was just wondering how they compare to each other?
Thanks
Ken

Helping Hand
Helping Hand

June 13th, 2002, 7:45 pm #2

Own several of both SEIKO & CITIZEN Divers; first thing is illumination. Normally the SEIKO has the best illumination. Some CItizens have good illumination, but until you have one in hand you can't tell.

Movements are excellent for both; occasionally a Citizen can be hand wound and can hack; rarely for the low end SEIKO Divers.

The newer Citizen and Seiko's both have very good metal bracelets.

Finish on SEIKO's is excellent; finish varies from different calibre to calibre on the Citizens. However every ECO-DRIVE I own is very well finished with a very good bracelet and clasp.

The date window on Citizen watches tends to be to small for my eyes, but that is a personal preference.

They both offer very fine Diver watches; SEIKO seems to have the edge, generally speaking, in style and finish, but some of the older Citizen Divers are very fine pieces, but don't think they were ever available in the US.

IMHO

Brandon Aybar
Brandon Aybar

June 13th, 2002, 8:32 pm #3

/

JGanovsky
JGanovsky

June 13th, 2002, 9:21 pm #4

Hello,
I am new to the diver watch scene. I'd be interested in some comments/opinions on comparisons between the Seiko and Citizen 200m automatic diver watches. For example let's assume the comparisons center around Citizen NY0045-05E or NY0040-09E and the Seiko SKX007k or SKX009k.