The Keystone Distance Wedge (long epiphany post)

gsw

April 3rd, 2009, 8:28 pm #11

Shank!

I can tell you that I have played several rounds with the F2s and no shanks. I have hit a few that would have been shanks with 'normal' clubs. One that stands out in particular was sandwedge 3rd shot to a par five that actually caused a reaction in my body (cringe) as I somehow knew that I shanked it. The ball ended up 5 feet from the hole and I managed to sink the putt for a birdie. I looked at the clubface after I hit and the ball mark was right under the hosel in perfect shank position. If I had made that swing with my old sandwedge it would have been in the woods ob and I probably would have taken at least 3 to get down after that resulting in a double bogey or worse. LOL like Stan says life is too short to mess around with the shanks... My confidence has increased a great deal since I started playing the F2s. I feel a bit more relaxed over the ball because I know that the shot might not be perfect but it won't be a hosel rocket.

In way though it takes some of the excitement out of the game. Knowing that I could shank any iron shot at any time added an element of danger that was a bit intoxicating... LOL I was always careful to make sure that nobody was standing to the right and ahead of me when I was hitting...

Regards, Herbert
Nothing better than to play golf knowing that you simply cannot hit a shank.

Stan
Last edited by gsw on April 3rd, 2009, 8:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

April 5th, 2009, 7:02 pm #12

Bertholy also advises a 3/4 swing for many people. I've noticed when doing the rifle barrel drills that I hold the angles better, getting cleaner contact with a divot in front of the ball most of the time with a 3/4 swing. When I go to a full backswing it all goes to Hell. This raises the question as to if I should even be doing full backswing rifle barrel drills ... if this is somehow reversing my progress with the drills.