New to Single Axis, Building Clubs

New to Single Axis, Building Clubs

August 4th, 2009, 3:32 am #1

I am new to single Axis. Have not played golf in 2.5 years. I am hitting the ball fairly well using the Graves Technique from DVD I ordered from him. Driver is straight about 245 counting the roll, carrying about 220 I guess. 8 iron about 130, also straight, but contact is not so hot and ball flight with all irons is low. Sort of resembles a punch shot, but ball bites well when it hits green on the very few that are well struck. A lot of shots are either fat or thin. My worst and most frequent poor shots are thin with the irons; with the woods, the pull hook is my most frequent bad shot, but if I swing slow and keep my right heel on the ground and do not sway I can eliminate that.

I currently use Wishon Irons (blades, 60 degree through 6 iron), Adams 9 wood, 5 wood, 3 wood and Calloway 14 degree driver. All have medium stiff shafts. Before I quit I had 13 handicap.

I have decided to get some new clubs, built from golf works. I am 6' 2.5", WTF 39". Any idea what I should order as far as length and lie? Shaft flex? Graphite or steel shafts?

Getting a dynamic fitting will be difficult for me.

Thanks to all.

August 4th, 2009, 1:13 pm #2

On Grave Bros site you can put in measuring information, and they will tell what loft and lie to use on the irons. I would guess you would be a 65 degree five iron, but not sure.

August 4th, 2009, 6:28 pm #3