Encounter with tour pro today

Encounter with tour pro today

gsw

January 20th, 2011, 2:29 am #1

This is my first year of retirement so I am currently down in Florida doing the snowbird thing. Today I was hitting balls at the local golf course and Nationwide tour player David Morland came over and started talking to the golfer next to me. That golfer was having trouble with his swing so David gave him a quick lesson. Needless to say I paid very close attention to what David had to say. The fix was very quick and to the point and it is something that I have heard before on this forum. David told the golfer to bend over more from the hips. He told him that by standing too upright he was unable to get his shoulders to turn down and under and instead his shoulders were turning more around instead of under. The golfer immediately began hitting the ball better, in fact as David walked off the golfer grabbed his cell phone and called and set up a money game with his playing buddies. I guess he figured he could beat them now that David has his game straitened out. Later I was working on my sidesaddle putting and David came over to me and gave me a tip to try anchoring my top hand while putting instead of simply holding the top with my left hand. David told me that his Grandfather was a sidesaddle putter and that there was nothing wrong with putting sidesaddle. He said that pros don't do it simply because they cannot give up what they have done all their lives and take the chance on losing their livelihood. Anyway, David Morland seemed like a nice guy. Here is a link to a Golf Channel episode that featured David Morland in case you guys have never heard of him http://www.thegolfchannel.com/golf-vide ... turn-2779/

Stan

January 20th, 2011, 2:52 am #2

Thanks for sharing Stan...lucky dawg in sunshine and all! Hit a few for all of us..actually hit a lot for all of us!

kevin

Never quit til you have a swing you'll never forget!

January 20th, 2011, 2:34 pm #3