ack

ack

December 24th, 2008, 3:11 pm #1

Here is a look at me at impact doing drill number five on clear key. Really sucks. I am ok at impact on drills 1 to 3 but go straight to he double hockey sticks on anything like a full swing. LOL, I have been drilling on the five IMA drills for a couple of months now and this is the result:

I am not going to quit, I am going to correct this if it is the last thing that I ever do!

Regards, Herbert

December 24th, 2008, 4:10 pm #2

How is impact on drill #4? If it's also not correct there then the fault is with the move of your trail elbow to the front of your trail hip. When it gets there it still needs to be bent as well as your trail wrist. If they aren't bent enough then '6/100s' is not correct. #5 adds shoulder turn which increases the difficulty in keeping the trail elbow bent.

Bertholy is the answer for what's needed to achieve these positions. This is also the reason for my 4.5 drill/swing.

This is I think the weakness of IMA instruction and why I tried to connect Scott with Doug Ferreri. For most I don't think it's enough to say 'just do it'.

Peter

December 24th, 2008, 5:29 pm #3

Drill number 4 was not good.

I don't have pictures yet but when I think of the trail elbow position on the downswing the problem goes away. I know this by the contact and ball flight. Also it helps to think of maintaining the angle late into the downswing. I get that snap feeling then.

I have been battling this all along, sometimes I get really good late hit and snap but not often enough. I know what to work on anyway. I want to make this move a habit and then I should see some improvement in ball striking.

I think that my body position is immproved and not too bad???

Regards, Herbert

December 24th, 2008, 5:50 pm #4