Moderator: Soukyuu

[Tutorial] Ar tonelico II on PS3

Joined: 6:15 PM - Sep 13, 2014

11:21 AM - Jan 09, 2015 #1

Yep! Ar tonelico II is perfectly playable on PlayStation 3 consoles! And I mean every single variant (except the super slim, but I'll get to that in a bit). If you didn't know, when you inserted the Ar tonelico II disk into a backwards-compatible PS3, the disk would boot up, but after the PlayStation 2 logo would appear on-screen, the screen would remain black, and you'd be forced to quit out of the game using the XMB. I'm going to show you a way to avoid this black screen, so you'll be able to play the game.

Keep in mind, I've never written a tutorial before, so I don't know how useful this'll be for people.

What you'll need:
- Ar tonelico II (in .iso format)
- PlayStation 3 console (must be on custom firmware or on firmware 3.55 or lower)
- A computer (just for getting your files ready)
- A USB flash drive or a USB external HDD (absolutely must be in NTFS format)

Note: You must have custom firmware on your console to utilize the black screen fix, as you need to alter the files of the game - something that can only be done on custom (unofficial) firmware. There are a few ways to get custom firmware on your PS3. Whichever way you proceed, you MUST have a PS3 that ran or could run official firmware 3.55. So, if you own one of the newer super slim models that was released way AFTER ofw 3.55 became obsolete, you're completely stuck here. That being said, even some of the normal slim consoles share this same fate, and I won't be explaining how to install cfw, so go search online. I won't go into how to obtain an iso file either, as you should already know that. As for your USB drive, NTFS is necessary because you need to transfer files over 4GB; this is something that is not possible on FAT32 devices.

Step 1: Installing ReactPSN on your PS3
To be honest, PS2 Classics wasn't really helpful to me, as I didn't know how to use the fix with it. But as it was the first thing I installed, it's best to be safe and just install it. To summarize, PS2 Classics is an application for your PS3 that allows you to play [pretty much every] PS2 game via emulation that's different to what you'd see on a BC PS3.

This tutorial tells you pretty much everything you need to do to get PS2Classics installed:
http://www.ps3hax.net/showthread.php?t=53694

However, the important thing is to install ReactPSN. It's another app for your PS3 that... well, does something to the license of your games that makes it so that you don't need to be connected to PSN to play them. I don't know the whole deal with it, but when you install a game, it gets assigned an owner. That owner has to own an account on your PS3 for you to be able to play the games. This app creates a new profile on your PS3 that is the owner. Well, something like that.

Download and install this: http://www.mediafire.com/download/50y79 ... BY+CED.rar
(mirror: http://www.mediafire.com/file/tdpy3ibdc ... Release.7z)

Link provided by this guy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sb6G4WLR-u4

Watch the video - he shows how to set it up. It's not too complicated.

Step 2: Installing a File Manager
This is easy. Use Multiman. Multiman is useful because it's got a nifty file manager, but it also turns PS2 .isos into a file format that is compatible with PS2 Classics (the app I mentioned in Step 1). However, for Ar tonelico 2 (which has the black screen bug), this method is useless. For this reason, we're only using Multiman for its file manager functionality. You can find Multiman on the internet - the version you need depends on what sort of console you have. You need to set Multiman to allow NTFS compatibility.

If you don't like Multiman, or your drives won't show up in its file manager, you can use IrisMan instead. I haven't used it, but I've read it's got a really simple, easy-to-use file manager built in.

Step 3: Creating Ar tonelico 2 for PS3
Ar tonelico 2 isn't available on the PSN, so it's not possible to get it onto your XMB as a game shortcut by normal means... but it's definitely possible by abnormal means! ;)
What we use here is RetroXMB. This is an application for Windows that turns .iso files into an encrypted format that is read by PS3s. This is the same as what Multiman does with PS2 .isos, but RetroXMB can do MUCH more.

But first, here's the link: http://www.mediafire.com/download/27b24 ... Release.7z
Link provided by this guy again: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPolELhGzJk

This guy's videos really helped when I was sorting this out for myself, haha! Again, watch the video for instructions.

The software allows you to change/add the background image, background music and preview video of your games to make them look like legit PS3 games. Anyway, just follow the instructions in that video to make a .pkg (package) file. In At2's case, the resulting .pkg will be way larger than 4GB, so unlike the guy in the video, you need an NTFS drive. Just copy it to the root of your drive, connect the drive to your PS3 and simply install it. It should take quite a while, but that's to be expected.

In RetroXMB, you can change the code of your game before compiling the .pkg. Make sure to remember what name you give it. You need to locate it later on. By the way, I called mine "PS2ARTON2" or something. Also, remember to patch the game with the re-translation BEFORE creating the .pkg! Otherwise, the game you'll get will be the original At2 with the botched translation and game breaking bugs!

Step 4: The Black Screen fix
The steps above were easy to understand because there are plenty of tutorials and posts on the internet. But this part was extremely frustrating to sort out. There's virtually nothing regarding this on the internet, apart from a few people complaining on NISA's forums :^^;:

It's actually thanks to a user here that I discovered a single file that can fix the bug - Satoh. I don't think he's active here anymore, though, but some time ago, he linked me to a CONFIG file. This CONFIG file had apparently been obtained from the Japanese release of Mana Khemia, but could be used with both At1 & At2 - both games caused a black screen when booted on PS3.

Here's the link to the CONFIG: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/57ej66tzs8in ... %5D/CONFIG
Link provided by this person: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-yNeoQMAds

The video doesn't show you how to use the CONFIG file. Furthermore, the uploader actually uses PS2 Classics to run the game! For whatever reason, PS2 Classics would not work with this fix for me, forcing me to use the RetroXMB workaround.

What you need to do is simple:
Download the CONFIG file to your USB.
Place the USB in your PS3.
Open your file manager of choice.
Navigate to the installation directory of the .pkg you just installed.
(For me, it was dev_hdd0 -> game -> PS2ARTON2 (or whatever you named your .pkg) -> USRDIR)
Copy and paste the CONFIG file inside USRDIR. The folder should now have: a folder called SAVEDATA, the newly copied CONFIG, ISO.BIN.EDAT, ISO.BIN.ENC and package.conf.

Congratulations! You've just made yourself a working version of Ar tonelico 2 for your PS3! The game will found under PlayStation 2 on your XMB.
Here's a video I made showing this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hAossfjdwMY

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Edit: Formatting
Quote
Like
Share

Len
Joined: 11:20 AM - Sep 03, 2014

12:49 PM - Jan 14, 2015 #2

Just curious. What's your CFW?
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: 4:19 AM - Feb 02, 2014

2:04 PM - Jan 14, 2015 #3

Thank you, this could be useful, it really is a shame they didn't re release them officially though. I'm still kinda paranoid about installing things on my PS3 incase it bricks, what are the changes of it bricking with that software?

"through shunning me in my grief and treating me like a leopard, they have shown me that I am a social piranha"
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: 6:15 PM - Sep 13, 2014

3:33 PM - Jan 14, 2015 #4

I'm not familiar at all with custom firmware, as I only installed it to play Ar tonelico II =/

I installed cfw on my old phat PS3 that was originally on 3.15 firmware. I updated it to 3.55 official firmware, and then to 4.55 Rogero firmware, the latest Rogero release. I chose Rogero because I've read online that his custom firmwares are reliable.

As for bricking, I don't know. I didn't do much research on the side effects of installing cfw, as I was working with a broken PS3 that I wasn't using anyway. I've read that you can brick your console if you install firmwares that are lower than the firmware that you're currently on, but this can only be done on cfw in the first place. What firmware are you currently on? I might be able to help you depending on what your console is on.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: 4:19 AM - Feb 02, 2014

6:56 PM - Jan 14, 2015 #5

I was eventually going to install CFW when Sony stopped updating their PS3's but that still will probably be afew years.

I've got a European, slim PS3 with the current 4.66 firmware.

"through shunning me in my grief and treating me like a leopard, they have shown me that I am a social piranha"
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: 6:15 PM - Sep 13, 2014

8:41 PM - Jan 14, 2015 #6

Ah... well, I'm afraid you're in a bind with this one. Switching to custom firmware isn't as easy as just downloading an update. You have to be on official firmware 3.55 to install custom firmware, as 3.55 is the only firmware that has the "flaw" that allows you to run 3rd party stuff.
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: 5:16 AM - Jun 19, 2013

9:07 PM - Jan 14, 2015 #7

There are ways of downgrading your firmware to 3.55, but it isn't as easy as on PSP. It may be faster/easier/safer to look for a used PS3 with OFW 3.55 or less installed (you can still get OFW 3.55 on the internet) and continue from there if you're not good at handling technical stuff (software & hardware). But don't take my word for granted, I just started reading a tutorial on downgrading the PS3 firmware five minutes ago.

I'd like you to not ask for downgrading firmwares, installing CFWs on a console and related topics in the public parts of ARM. We're not on our own server, that kind of talk could get us deleted. There are enough tutorials on the internet. I could find them, I'm sure you can, too.

My PS3 is most likely also on 4.66. I won't try any sort of hacking until I'm done with all of my PS3 games forever. There are some other reasons why I'm not going for a CFW right now.
I'd rather buy another one just for a CFW rather than doing it on my current PS3.

Quote
Like
Share

Joined: 4:19 AM - Feb 02, 2014

12:02 AM - Jan 15, 2015 #8

Thats fine thanks for the advice, I still think waiting till the PS3 is at its end with no more updates is best since they wont care at that point and people have time to work around whatever firmware they are on.

I think I could look them all up if needs be atleast.

PS3's should become very very cheap in the next few years I think so I might keep an eye on that lol.

"through shunning me in my grief and treating me like a leopard, they have shown me that I am a social piranha"
Quote
Like
Share

Len
Joined: 11:20 AM - Sep 03, 2014

4:55 AM - Jan 15, 2015 #9

Welp I gave up. :T_T: Still got the Black Screen. :(
Quote
Like
Share

Joined: 6:15 PM - Sep 13, 2014

5:51 AM - Jan 15, 2015 #10

Len wrote:Welp I gave up. :T_T: Still got the Black Screen. :(
Did you follow my instructions exactly? I don't think I missed anything out... Did you get any error messages or anything?

Yeah, I'm not really comfortable talking about hacking consoles because 1) I hardly know anything about it, and 2) it's a touchy subject for some. It's perfectly legal to hack your own devices, but it's very easy to drift into the "dark side". I don't think we'll have that problem here, though.
Quote
Like
Share