Dogwood trees

wannabegardener
Herbaceous Perennial
Herbaceous Perennial
wannabegardener
Herbaceous Perennial
Herbaceous Perennial

3:40 PM - Sep 01, 2003 #1

I have about decided in replacing the water Maples in my front yard to plant a couple of White flowering Dogwoods in their place.
Is anyone growing any ? Any advice for a total novice when it comes to trees ?
How fast they grow and had you had any problems with the dogwood borer (?) ?Theresa
The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory.

wedgwoodhouse
Flowering Annual
Flowering Annual
wedgwoodhouse
Flowering Annual
Flowering Annual

6:49 AM - Sep 02, 2003 #2

Hi Theresa,
I do not personally have any white, but if I did, I would choose "Eddie's White Wonder". It is amazing and the blossoms heavily fill the tree, almost to bringing the branches down. It's a true beaut., that's for sure.
I have a pink one and it is doing really well, but it is not really the one I would have preferred. That would have been "Florida Rubens" have you heard or seen that one. It is simply gorgeous.
Never heard of the Dogwood borer. I am not sure if we get it in these parts. Dogwoods are native to our area and the south west lower mainland of British Columbia.
Missed you guys lately. Hope you've been having a great season up to now.
Wedgie.
PaulineWedgwood House Bed & BreakfastLantzville-by-the-Sea, Nr. Nanaimo on Beautiful Vancouver Island.
Paulina

Wedgwood House

Haven to share with family and friends.

Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada

wannabegardener
Herbaceous Perennial
Herbaceous Perennial
wannabegardener
Herbaceous Perennial
Herbaceous Perennial

6:09 PM - Sep 02, 2003 #3

Hi , Wedgie ! I've missed you . Hope all is well with you and yours .
They grow native around here , too. Makes for a spectacular Spring.