what are the odds of this, thebob? (url, crossforum)

mn
mn

2:05 AM - Oct 28, 2014 #1

http://www.network54.com/Forum/648955/m ... 414461583/

here%27s+a+project+i%27d+like+to+see+on+your+graphics+forum
(link should work without this part, included anyway since it's easier than copying the title)

mn
mn

2:19 AM - Oct 28, 2014 #2

pro·gram·mer noun ˈprō-ˌgra-mər, -grə-
: a person who creates computer programs

there's other stuff further down, which includes other instances or types of programming, but i hate this "i'm not really a programmer" nonsense. it's not like you invented it, and it's not just false modesty, i know you had a point, but if you're not a programmer that disqualifies too many programmers. it's time to squash that one.

if you mean "i'm not a REAL programmer(tm)," ok, i guess. i mean by some definition of "real programmer," none of us are. the only one i know is galleon. but i think one of basic's strengths is letting people who aren't "real programmers" become, well, programmers. and programmers "of a sort" are still programmers, and you are as much as we are. so unless your intention is to insult us (and i'm sure it's not,) stop being so freaking modest. it does no good at all

thanks,

menn

6:40 AM - Oct 28, 2014 #3

I suppose that compared to a lot of newbies, I would certainly qualify as a programmer. I have, in fact, written some things that not just anyone could write--for example, how many people could write a Solitaire game that actually works, graphics notwithstanding.

Okay, darn it! I accept that I am a programmer and can take my place among the lot of you with some degree of pride.

Thanks, menn!

-Bob

mn
mn

6:46 AM - Oct 28, 2014 #4

6:56 AM - Oct 28, 2014 #5

mn
mn

8:02 AM - Oct 28, 2014 #6

they have filters that turn images into ascii representations. you could have an interesting time converting ascii into graphics.