PPC Gun

PPC Gun

Jim
Jim

October 16th, 2003, 12:22 pm #1

Do most guys buy used or have them custom made? If you have them custom made, by whom. I have been shooting for three years now with a stock 686 and I think its time to move up. I have been looking for a good used one, but have not run across one yet. Can you recommend a gunsmith that will custom make one for me, preferably with a webpage I can check out?

thanks

Bob
Bob

October 20th, 2003, 9:20 pm #2

I have not had much luck finding web pages on PPC guns.

I just had one made, though.

I bought a model 10 S&W, 2' barrel. From there I added what I wanted from Brownells. It cost me about 550-600 total.

Also, there was an ad on here for a PPC gun and holster.

My PERSONAL opinion, which if you add a dollar will get you coffee, is that I shy away from the .357 caliber. To me, it adds a bit of unnessecary space between the bullet and the cone. I stick with .38 caliber.

Good luck!

Paul Warner
Paul Warner

October 23rd, 2003, 4:11 am #3

Do most guys buy used or have them custom made? If you have them custom made, by whom. I have been shooting for three years now with a stock 686 and I think its time to move up. I have been looking for a good used one, but have not run across one yet. Can you recommend a gunsmith that will custom make one for me, preferably with a webpage I can check out?

thanks
Jim,

I have had great success with a Mod. 10 Smith built for me by George F. Long, out of Rogue River, OR. When I went looking to have a gun built - I went to the Top 100 Pistolsmiths list from American Handgunner magazine. You can research the list on-line. Several commented they did ppc conversions but after a lot of calls and questions, I narrowed it down to George Long.

He can be reached at 541 476-7552. I went with a 6" slab sided w/full underlug barrel, Aristocrat Tri-Set Rib, ball detent yoke lock, chambers chamfered and of course an action job. He reblued the entire weapon when completed.