Teas from wild plants

WIoutdoorguy
WIoutdoorguy

August 5th, 2018, 1:43 am #1

I am kind of new to wild plant uses and was wondering if anyone has any good tea recipes for wild burgamot. I love the smell of it and would think it could be used as an ingredient for tea, I just don't know what to use it with. Thank you in advance for any advice.
Robbie

WIoutdoorguy
WIoutdoorguy

August 13th, 2018, 2:15 am #2

I thought someone here may have tried this for tea before but I guess not. Anyway, I have a couple sisters that are getting into the wild herbs/weeds use. I dried some flowers and leaves and mailed them to them. My one sister used it for tea and describes it as having a spicy, sweet, earthy flavor. So I tried some fresh picked leaves, steeped them in almost boiling water for 10 minutes, removed the leaves and drank the tea. I thought it was very good. Will have to work on the amount of leaves per cup to tune it in so it's not so strong. A little goes a long way in my opinion. As a side note my sister commented that it helped settle her stomach. After doing some research on the internet I found some info that it does help with nausea.

DuxDawg
DuxDawg

August 13th, 2018, 3:40 pm #3

Great work! 
By the way, I purposely make things strong, then just add a lil water to taste. 
Last edited by DuxDawg on August 13th, 2018, 11:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VirginiaKnapper
VirginiaKnapper

August 13th, 2018, 8:39 pm #4

I definitely feel the same DuxDawg. When it comes to subjects such as tea, better too little water than too much.

Sent from my SM-J327V using Tapatalk

"It's about what you learn, not what you make" - Erret Callahan
"Win some, lose some, and sometimes ran out" - Kenny Roberts

DuxDawg
DuxDawg

August 13th, 2018, 11:42 pm #5

Just reading today about a lady who cold steeps Bergamot leaves and/or flowers with her cones of Sumac drupes when making Sumac-Ade (think pink lemonade). She noted that the leaves are much stronger tasting than the flowers.