Stone ID

Dan Rowlett
Dan Rowlett

July 9th, 2018, 2:58 pm #1

Does anyone know what kind of stone this is? I picked it up in the Springfield MO area.
I know it's a type of chert but that's all. It doesn't work very well raw, I'm going to try cooking it. In " The Art of Flintknapping" Its suggested to heat MO cherts to 550 to 600 degrees. I have a turkey roaster that goes to 550 so I will see how it comes out.
I'm open to suggestions from anyone who has cooked this kind of rock. I have little to no experience myself with heat treating rock

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk

freeze cracked
freeze cracked

July 9th, 2018, 3:02 pm #2

looks like springfield burlington. some of that is great heated, and some has too much chalk and crystals in it. google heat treating burlington chert and follow the recipes and hope the 550 changes it some. when i work burlington raw, it's almost always fresh out of the ground so it has enough moisture in it to assist. some of that stuff gets fairly unworkable raw once it's dried out. and the chalky stuff isn't always worth even attempting to work. 
i dream of a better world in which chickens can cross roads without having their motives questioned.

Dan Rowlett
Dan Rowlett

July 9th, 2018, 3:42 pm #3

Thanks Freeze Cracked, I'm hoping it will be workable once heated. My brother has 25 acres just south of Springfield. This rock is everywhere on his place. Be a great source of stone if it will behave properly.
He has had some recent dozer work done and exposed a lot of stone. Most was fractured and chalky but every now and then a piece seemed like it might be ok.
I was able to make a rough preform out of one piece, raw, so we will see after heating it

freeze cracked
freeze cracked

July 9th, 2018, 4:55 pm #4